Giggles in Londontown

Day 101 – Day 106, 29/5/2012 – 3/6/2012

This was my 4th time in London and even though I’ve seen most of the must-see tourist attractions, London has a vibe that keeps me wanting to return again and again. I love it.

So my week here was very relaxed – a lot (but not enough) of time with my personality twin, loads of Starbucks (and blaberry muffins – yes, my English has improved a lot over the past year, I know how to order a blaberry muffin), loads of window-shopping and trying on dresses in all the colours of a rainbow (even yellow looked fab on my tan), teasing dogs in the parks (and not a single heartbreaking stray dog in sight for a change), that regular photo with the Easter Island sculpture in the British Museum, long rides in the double-deckers, M&Ms store (Oh my!!!), Tate Britain and the Turner Collection – his landscapes of sea are brilliant. Learning how to bake a honey cake (I lost interest in it after having done the second layer of batter), ridiculous photo-shoots and giggles; Natural History Museum and Science Museum win my attention every time, as well as the Thames. Preparations for the Queen’s Jubilee were all over the place, but, of course, the celebrations started on the day I was leaving.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Weather-wise London was as unpredictable as it should be – the first days were sunny and warm, but then it became bloody cold, especially for my persona that had gotten used to +35 in shade. It was a good training for returning back to Baltics with +12’C in the beginning of June.

And on a sunny Sunday evening I returned back home where nothing has changed. Riga is same same, but sometimes no change is good. Is this the case – I’m not sure yet.

About Ginger

Interested in green & eco thingies, human rights, youth activism and HIV prevention. Love movies, gingerism, lattes and discovering something new every day.
This entry was posted in Backpacking in Southeast Asia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment